ANR Development Environment - Click to Move
Division of Agriculture and Natural Resources
University of California
Division of Agriculture and Natural Resources

Local experts

Local UC Cooperative Extension offices operate in most California counties. Many of them have experts on staff who can specifically address local concerns about the California drought.

Fresno County Robert Hutmacher
CE Cotton Specialist
Director, UC West Side Research and Extension Center
(559) 260-8957
rbhutmacher@ucdavis.edu

Dan Munk
Farm advisor
Irrigation and drainage
(559) 456-7561
dsmunk@ucdavis.edu

Lawrence J. Schwankl, Ph.D.
CE Irrigation Specialist
Irrigation engineering, design, operation and management of irrigation systems, soil moisture monitoring, low-volume irrigation
(559) 646-6569
schwankl@uckac.edu

Glenn, Colusa, Tehama, Shasta counties Allan Fulton
Farm advisor
Irrigation and water resources
(530) 527-3101
aefulton@ucdavis.edu
Kern County Blake Sanden
Farm advisor
Irrigation, soil, water
(661) 868-6218
blsanden@ucdavis.edu
Monterey County Michael Cahn
Farm advisor
Irrigation and water resources
(831) 759-7377
mdcahn@ucdavis.edu
Riverside County Dennis Pittenger
Area environmental horticulturist
Landscape irrigation management
(951) 827-3320
dennis.pittenger@ucr.edu
San Joaquin County Karrie Reid
CE environmental horticulture advisor
Landscaping under drought conditions
(209) 953-6109 
tlprichard@ucdavis.edu
Webmaster Email: jewarnert@ucanr.edu